White Chocolate Frappé

Frothy, creamy and velvety iced coffee perfect for this hot season.

White Chocolate Frappe

My father came home last week for a short vacation.  Since he loves coffee THIS much (arms wide-open), I wanted to make something for him that has, well, coffee in it.  I opted for JoyOfBaking.com’s Hot White Chocolate that I had tried before (my husband and my brother loved it!) but the weather is sooooo hot.  A hot drink on a hot summer day? Boo.  So I thought, why not make a cold version of it?

This White Chocolate Frappé has only 3 ingredients: milk, coffee and white chocolate.  Easy-peasy. 

I used full cream milk because I love its smooth-silky-creamy texture.  It’s my favorite type of milk.  The coffee is very strong here so you can reduce the amount according to your preference.  You can start with 2 teaspoons then work your way up to 4 teaspoons which is the max in this recipe.  The white chocolate served as the sweetener instead of sugar.  Too fancy? Let’s say we just want to make this a little bit special 😉

I also doubled JoyOfBaking.com’s recipe because it only serves two small cups (or one big cup only for ME) and I wasn’t able to enjoy it the last time I made it.  I also reduced the amount of white chocolate to cut-back the sweetness.

White Chocolate Frappe

At first, I really don’t know what to call this drink.  “Cold White Chocolate?” Nah.  “Frothy Milk Coffee?” Duh.  “Coffee Velvet?” What???  I kept on thinking as I drink this anon. drink. Then my brother said it tasted like Starbucks’ Frappuccino that he had before (I was like “really???!”).  That’s it! With a sly grin, I decided to name this drink “White Chocolate Frappuccino.”

But I need to be reminded that the term “Frappuccino” is a trademark for a line of ice blended coffee beverages by Starbucks.  Okay.  Now what? A little frustrated, I searched the web, kept on reading, and a word caught my attention:

FRAPPÉ.  According to Wikipedia, frappé is a “foam-covered iced coffee drink made from instant coffee.” Hmmm… frappé? Why not! Hence, White Chocolate Frappé.

A little bit of Science.  I’ve read that the key to this frothy drink is the instant coffee.  Because instant coffee contains nearly no oil, the bubbles do not collapse easily therefore a thick foam on top is created.  Oh…. Science is fun right? In my frappé’s case, only a thin layer of foam is created maybe because of the oily contents of the white chocolate that I used.  However, the foam is still stable enough to last until the next day.

Enough of the science.  Now go get some coffee and hit the blender 🙂

White Chocolate Frappe

 

WHITE CHOCOLATE FRAPPÉ

Yield: 2 semi-tall glasses         Inspired by: JoyOfBaking.com’s Hot White Chocolate

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups (600ml) milk, chilled, plus
  • 1/2 cup (120ml) milk, room temperature
  • 13 pieces White Toblerone Tiny (or 80g white chocolate)
  • 4 teaspoons instant coffee powder
  • cocoa powder

Procedure:

Heat 1/2 cup of milk in the microwave.  Add the white chocolate and stir until melted.  Let it cool completely.

Once the milk-chocolate mixture has cooled, transfer it to a blender.  Add instant coffee powder and chilled milk.  Pulse until frothy.

Pour into glasses and sprinkle with cocoa powder.  Add more ice if needed.  Enjoy!

Notes:

  • How to chill the milk – pour milk into ice bag or ziplock and put inside the freezer.  Turn or shake the bag every 30 to 40 minutes to avoid it from freezing.
  • I used full cream milk because I like its creamy taste.  You may use whole or 2%.
  • Reduce the amount of coffee to 3 teaspoons if you would like to lessen the intensity of the coffee.
Leave a Reply

