Peanut Butter Cup Muffins With Milk Chocolate Ganache

I mentioned in my previous post that I was looking for recipes where I can use my left-over sour cream and found this banana sheet cake and Back for Seconds’ Ganache Topped  Peanut Butter Muffins.  I was eyeing these muffins for a long time and now the time has come to make them.

Peanut Butter Cup Muffins with Ganache

These muffins have everything I love – peanut butter, banana, Reese’s peanut butter cups and most of all, CHOCOLATE GANACHE! Who doesn’t love ganache? It’s one of the best finger-licking-good  desserts for me. I can eat a cup of it in one sitting. If you will let me choose between two cupcakes with chocolate buttercream and ganache, I will definitely grab the latter.

Peanut Butter Cup Muffins with Ganache

I love watching these muffins inside the oven.  They rose perfectly.  I always wash the dishes while my dessert is baking in the oven to save time, but this time I wasn’t able to.  I can’t resist to look at them from time to time.

Peanut Butter Cup Muffins with Ganache

Peanut Butter Cup Muffins with Ganache

The muffin is good in itself but tastes better if eaten together with the ganache and bits of peanut butter cups.

Peanut Butter Cup Muffins with Ganache

 

PEANUT BUTTER CUP MUFFINS WITH MILK CHOCOLATE GANACHE

Yield: 8 muffins        Adapted from: Back For Seconds

Ingredients:

CAKE

  • 1 cup (125g) all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon*
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/3 cup (80g) creamy peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup (65g) granulated sugar
  • 1 medium (65g) ripe banana*
  • 1/3 cup (80ml) milk
  • 1/4 cup (60g) sour cream
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 egg (58g w/o shell)*

GANACHE

  • 4 ounces milk chocolate chips (I used Hershey’s)*
  • 2 ounces heavy cream
  • 4 packs Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups 2’s, chopped (or 16 pcs. Reese’s Minis, chopped)

Procedure:

Preheat oven to 350F degrees.  Spray cupcake pans with non-stick spray or line with cupcake liners.

Make the muffin.  Mix together flour, salt, cinnamon and baking powder in a small bowl.  Set aside.

Using a handheld or stand mixer with a paddle attachment, beat peanut butter, sugar and banana until combined (I did this by hand using a wired whisk).  Add milk, sour cream, vanilla and egg, mix well.  Gradually add the flour mixture and mix until well combined.

Scoop into prepared muffin pans by using a 1/4 dry measuring cup.  This will yield 8 muffins.  Bake for 15 minutes or until toothpick inserted comes out with few moist crumbs.  Mine were done at 14 minutes.  Let the muffins cool on wire racks.

Make the ganache.  Melt the milk chocolate chips and heavy cream in the microwave (or double boiler) stirring every 20 seconds for 1 minute.  Remove from microwave then stir until all chocolate chips are melted.  Let it cool a bit. 6.  I dipped my muffins while the ganache is still runny so the ganache was dripping all over them.  I suggest to refrigerate the ganache for 5 to 7 minutes or until it has set a little bit.  Don’t let it set too much or it will be hard to dip the muffins.  If the ganache is ready, dip the muffins and sprinkle with chopped peanut butter cups.  Serve and enjoy!

Notes:

  • The cinnamon is a little bit strong here.  You can reduce it to 1/4 teaspoon.
  • Measuring the banana – peel the skin of the bananas, mash with fork then measure the required amount using a food scale.  Or just use 1 medium banana.
  • Measuring the egg – crack egg into a small bowl, beat with fork, then measure out using a food scale.  Or just use 1 medium to large egg.
  • The source recipe used 8 ounces of chocolate which I thought will be too much for 8 muffins so I used only half of the ganache ingredients.

Storage:

  • Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator.  I stored it in a baking dish uncovered for 3 days and had no problems with it.  The muffin hardens when cold so bring to room temperature before serving.
Leave a Reply

